Albums (details)

Back to albums


The Great Lost Performance
Catalog Number
  • B0008980-02
  • Mercury
  • Recorded live at the Paramount Theater in Asbury Park, NJ on July 28, 1990.

    This concert was about to be released as "Good Night Asbury Park" back in 2005, but for unknown reasons the project was scrapped. Eventually Mercury/Universal released a portion of the concert as "The Great Lost Peformance" (the track list of the 2005-edition was never published, so it is not known if it would have included more than the Mercury edition does).

    In the late winter of 2009 the master reel tapes were offered on eBay, but whether they recieved any bids is not known. The seller did provide a detailed description of the tapes and the circumstances under which they were recorded, including:

    "...The performance was captured on 24 track analog tapes, a pristine recording using top of the line equipment at the Paramount Theather-Asbury Park, New Jersey. The Paramount is regarded as one of the greatest rooms in which to record a live concert. Besides a flawless, spirited performance, which included The Carter Sisters, the tapes themselves have quite a story behind them. Litterally "Lost" for nearly fiftheen (15) years, producer Clark Enslin was able to locate three of the four tapes at a studio in New York City. The first tape which is still lost, was the opening act which consisted of the Carter Sisters back up by Johnny's band. Some of the act, however, is still captured on tape 2 of this collection..."

    As well as notes on the technical data:

    "...Reel # 2 -Agfa, 2"-24 track, 14" dia., appox. 33 minutes, recorded @ 30ips

    Reel # 3 -Ampex Grand Master 456, 2"-24 track, 14"dia., appox. 33 minutes, recorded @ 30ips

    Reel # 4 -Ampex Grand Master 456, 2"-24 track, 14"dia.appox. 33 minutes, recorded @ 30ips

    Tape player -- 2"- 24 track machine


    Johnny Cash-Lead Vocal and Rhythm Guitar, Kerry Marx-Lead Guitar, John Carter Cash-Guitar and Vocals, Earl Poole Ball-Piano, Stve Logan-Upright Bass, W.S. Holland-Drums, June Carter Cash-Vocals, Anita Carter-Vocals, Helen Carter Jones-Vocals


    Kooster McAllister-Engineer, Paul Prestopino-Tech Enginerr, Skip Kent-Stage Manager, Fred Ridder-A2..."


    The track list for the July 28, 1990 concert (based on auction description and circulating audience recordings of the concert):

    (opening of the Carters' set not known)

    1. Seven Bridges Road

    2. Church In The Wildwood

    3. Lonesome Valley

    4. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

    5. Ring Of Fire

    6. Life's Railway To Heaven

    7. Gospel Boogie (Wonderful Time Up There)

    8. Folsom Prison Blues

    9. Sunday Morning Coming Down

    10. What Is Man

    11. A Thing Called Love

    12. Under The Double Eagle (instrumental)

    13. Come Along And Ride This Train

    14. Five Feet High And Risin'

    15. Pickin' Time

    16. No Setting Sun (A Beautiful Life)

    17. Hey Porter

    18. I've Got Jesus In My Soul (Earl Ball)

    19. Ragged Old Flag

    20. Forty Shades Of Green

    21. Call Me The Breeze (with John Carter Cash)

    22. Tennessee Flat Top Box

    23. Vaya Con Dios

    24. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky

    25. If I Were A Carpenter (with June Carter)

    26. Jackson (with June Carter)

    27. Wreck Of The Old '97 (with June Carter)

    28. I Walk The Line

2007-2019. The Johnny Cash Infocenter is not affiliated with the Johnny Cash Estate. Currently a lot of information isn't shown on the site yet as we've had a major crash. We're working on it though. | Sitemap | Thanks